South Africa release COSAFA Cup squad

South Africa release COSAFA Cup squad
Siyabonga Ngezana of Kaizer Chiefs clears ball from Jeremy Brockie of Supersport United during the Absa Premiership 2017/18 match between Supersport United and Kaizer Chiefs at Mbombela Stadium, Mpumalanga South Africa on 06 January 2018 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Phumzile Ngcatshe

Wednesday May 23, 2018. 15:00

2018 COSAFA Cup hosts South Africa have announced their squad for the regional tournament set to get underway this weekend.

Coach Stuart Baxter announced the 20-man squad on Tuesday evening and will hope to dethrone the current champions Zimbabwe.

The Bafana Bafana boss will want to do well in the competition which will be staged in Limpopo for the first time in its history.

With Bafana set to face the winner of Group A on June 06, the showpiece starts on May 26 and runs to June 10 in Polokwane.

The group consists of Mozambique, Comoros, Seychelles and Madagascar, while Group B has Malawi, Mauritius, Botswana and Angola.

Baxter has called the likes of foreign-based players such as striker Luther Singh and midfielder Gift Links, whilst Khulekani Kubheka, Lyle Foster and Wiseman Meyiwa all graduate from the SA U20 squad.

Bafana Bafana Squad:

Goalkeepers: Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs), Riyaard Pieterse (SuperSport United), Khulekani Kubheka (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Siyabonga Ngezana (Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg United), Taariq Fielies (Cape Town City), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates)

Midfield: Wiseman Meyiwa (Chiefs), Siphesihle Ndlovu, Fortune Makaringe, Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg), Aubrey Modiba, Craig Webber (SuperSport), Abednego Mosiatlhaga (Bidvest Wits), Neo Links (Sport Face, Egypt)

Strikers: Gift Motupa (Baroka FC), Lyle Brent Foster (Pirates), Ryan Moon (Chiefs), Luther Singh (SC Braga, Portugal)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.