Sheyi Ojo and Naby Keita to begin pre-season training with Liverpool FC on Monday

Sheyi Ojo and Naby Keita to begin pre-season training with Liverpool FC on Monday
Nigerian winger Sheyi Ojo

by Brian Lee

Sunday Jul 01, 2018. 14:30

English Premier League (EPL) giants Liverpool FC have announced that Nigerian winger Sheyi Ojo and Guinean midfielder Naby Keita will be part of the 26 players, who will begin pre-season training on Monday.

Ojo, who is an England under-21 international, is still ineligible to play for Nigeria. The 21-year-old attacker spent the 2017/18 season on loan at Fulham and he helped the club secure promotion to the Premier League from the Championship.

Keita recently completed his move to Liverpool from German Bundesliga side RB Leipzig. The Guinea midfielder will be hoping to hit the ground running at the English giants in the new season.

The club’s African stars Sadio Mane and Mohamed Salah are expected to start pre-season training at a later date after respresenting Senegal, and Egypt respectively at the ongoing 2018 FIFA World Cup finals in Russia.

A club statement read: “A total of 26 players are scheduled to report to Melwood for the first day of Liverpool’s pre-season training programme.”

“Many members of Jürgen Klopp’s squad - including new signings Fabinho and Naby Keita, and most of those who were out on loan last term - will reconvene on Monday morning as preparations for 2018-19 begin following the summer break.”

“The Reds’ eight-strong World Cup contingent - Trent Alexander-Arnold, Roberto Firmino, Marko Grujic, Jordan Henderson, Dejan Lovren, Sadio Mane, Simon Mignolet and Mohamed Salah - will not be present, along with Virgil van Dijk and Georginio Wijnaldum.”

“Van Dijk and Wijnaldum featured for the Netherlands in an international friendly immediately after the 2017-18 campaign and will report back later.”

“Players scheduled to report to Melwood on Monday: Camacho, Pedro Chirivella, Nathaniel Clyne, Fabinho, Joe Gomez, Kamil Grabara, Danny Ings, Curtis Jones, Loris Karius, Naby Keita, Caoimhin Kelleher, Ryan Kent, Ragner Klavan, Adam Lallana, Marko Markovic, James Milner, Alberto Moreno, Sheyi Ojo, Divock Origi, Phillips, Andrew Robertson, Dominic Solanke, Daniel Sturridge, Danny Ward, Harry Wilson, Ben Woodburn.”

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment