MTN8 Winners: who were the 2008 champions?

MTN8 Winners: who were the 2008 champions?
Itumeleng Khune of Kaizer Chiefs

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Aug 02, 2018. 16:31

Kaizer Chiefs became the first winners of the rebranded MTN8 in 2008 and claimed a record-extending 14th title in the competition after they overcame Mamelodi Sundowns in the final.

The Soweto giants were led by coach Muhsin Ertugal and boasted a free-flowing style, best exemplified by their 4-0 destruction of Santos in the quarterfinals, which featured a brace from Gert Schalkwyk and a goal each from Jose Torrealba and Reneilwe Letsholonyane.

The Amakhosi went on to defeat local rivals Moroka Swallows 2-1 on aggregate in the semifinals – thanks to a further goal apiece from Schalkwyk and Torrealba – before facing off with the Brazilians in the final.

The match at Kings Park in Durban on September 23 was a tense, tight affair and finished in a goalless stalemate after extra time. However, Chiefs had the edge in the penalty shootout thanks to goalkeeper and rising star Itumeleng Khune, who helped them triumph 4-3 on spot kicks.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.