MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2009 Champions?

MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2009 Champions?
Manqoba Mngqithi

by Staff Reporter

Friday Aug 03, 2018. 15:30

Golden Arrows came out of nowhere to win the 2009 MTN8 and claim their first major trophy as a club – and they did so in the most emphatic style imaginable.

Their coach was up-and-comer Manqoba Mngqithi, who had put together a young and exciting team full of skillful players and incredible speed.

They first gave notice of their potential by beating Free State Stars 1-0 in Phuthaditjhaba thanks to a strike from Musa Bilankulu, before going up a gear or two for the semifinals, where they crushed Durban rivals AmaZulu 4-1 on aggregate thanks to two goals from Richard Henyekane and strikes by Joseph Musonda and Njabulo Manqana.

The final, held at Orlando Stadium in Soweto on October 24, was expected to be a close game between Arrows and Ajax, but Abafana Bes’thende had other ideas.

They tore into the Cape side’s flat-footed defence and racked up a massive 6-0 victory, with Manqana the main star after both opening and closing the scoring.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment