MTN8 History: 2011 Flashback

MTN8 History: 2011 Flashback
Oupa Manyisa of Orlando Pirates

by Staff Reporter

Sunday Aug 05, 2018. 11:00

Orlando Pirates became the first team to defend the Top Eight Cup title in successive years since Kaizer Chiefs in 1992 when they defeated the Amakhosi 1-0 in the 2011 MTN8 final at FNB Stadium, thanks to Oupa Manyisa’s extra time goal.

The Buccaneers’ path to glory started with a 1-0 win over Santos in the quarterfinals, while Ajax Cape Town hammered SuperSport United 5-2, Mamelodi Sundowns squeezed past Bloemfontein Celtic and Kaizer Chiefs ousted Bidvest Wits 2-1.

Pirates were nearly eliminated in the semifinals on away goals by the Brazilians but a stunning long range goal from Manyisa allowed them to claim a 1-1 draw in the second leg and win out 4-3 on aggregate. Chiefs did need the away goals rule to overcome Ajax after the teams were locked 1-1 on aggregate.

The dream final between the two Soweto giants was as tense and tight as football matches get, with neither team prepared to give the other an inch. Goalless after 90 minutes, the early stages of the second half of extra time saw Manyisa beat Itumeleng Khune for what proved the decisive moment of the match and the tournament.

2011 MTN8 Champions: Orlando Pirates (9th title)
2011 MTN8 Top Goal Scorer(s): Terror Fanteni (Ajax), 3 goals
2011 MTN8 Last Man Standing award: Oupa Manyisa (Pirates)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.