MTN8 History: 2012 Flashback

MTN8 History: 2012 Flashback
Felix Obada of Moroka Swallows battles with Davies Nkausu of Supersport United during the MTN 8 Final between Supersport United and Moroka Swallows on the 22 September 2012 at Orlando Stadium, Soweto ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Monday Aug 06, 2018. 11:00

Moroka Swallows ended a wait of more than three decades for their third Top Eight Cup title when they defeated SuperSport United 2-1 in the 2012 MTN8 final. Bennett Chenene’s late strike in the final at Orlando Stadium saw the Birds to a deserved triumph.

The Soweto side was free-scoring throughout the tournament, as they defeated AmaZulu 2-0 in the quarterfinals before recording an incredible 6-5 aggregate win over Mamelodi Sundowns in what must be regarded as one of the all-time classic two-legged cup ties in South African football.

SuperSport’s path to the final was equally testing. Gavin Hunt’s side defeated Free State Stars 2-1 in their opener before a bad-tempered semifinal with Orlando Pirates which saw three players red carded during the course of the two legs. United won the second leg in Soweto 3-0 after a goalless stalemate in the first match.

Matsatsantsa started the final on the front foot thanks to an early goal from Franklyn Cale, but Giorgi Nergadze soon cancelled it out. Chenene’s late winner then sealed a return to Top Eight glory for the Birds.

2012 MTN8 Champions: Moroka Swallows (3rd title)
2012 MTN8 Top Goal Scorer(s): Lerato Chabangu & Bennett Chenene (both Swallows), 3 goals each
2012 MTN8 Last Man Standing award: Lerato Chabangu (Swallows)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.