MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2012 Champions?

MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2012 Champions?
Lefa Tsutsulupa of Swallows (centre) holds aloft the MTN8 trophy during the 2012 MTN 8 Final between Supersport United and Moroka Swallows on the 22 September 2012 at Orlando Stadium ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

by Helder Ribiero

Monday Aug 06, 2018. 14:30

After more than 30 years since their last Top Eight triumph, Moroka Swallows claimed the MTN8 in 2012 as they beat SuperSport United to the trophy in dramatic circumstances.

Led by Zeca Marques, who will always be remembered for his celebrations which saw him tear off his suit jacket and hurl it in the air, the Birds were free scoring from the off, racking up a 2-0 win over AmaZulu, before an incredible 6-5 aggregate triumph over Mamelodi Sundowns in the semifinals.

Lerato Chabangu, Bennett Chenene, Siyabonga Nomvethe, Ashraf Hendricks and Felix Obada all got their names the score sheets through the first two rounds, while the final against SuperSport at the Orlando Stadium on September 22 saw Giorgi Nergadze add his name to the list as he cancelled out Franklyn Cale’s early opener.

The Birds then secured victory with an 88th-minute winner from Chenene, bringing them their third Top Eight title overall and a first since 1979.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.