Chiefs aim to teach Wits a lesson in first home game

Chiefs aim to teach Wits a lesson in first home game
Oupa Manyisa of Mamelodi Sundowns challenges Willard Katsande of Kaizer Chiefs during the Absa Premiership 2018/19 match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Kaizer Chiefs at the Loftus Versveld Stadium, Pretoria on 04 August 2018 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Monday Aug 06, 2018. 13:57

Kaizer Chiefs will target their first win of the 2018/19 Absa Premiership season when they host Bidvest Wits at FNB Stadium on 7 August 2018, kick-off at 19h30.

Chiefs opened their campaign with a 1-1 draw away to champions Mamelodi Sundowns on August 4, with Ramahlwe Mphahlele’s early goal cancelled out by a penalty from Ricardo Nascimento.

The Amakhosi will be looking to improve on their home record from last season, which saw them pick up 22 points from 15 matches as they recorded five wins, seven draws and three defeats as hosts through 2017/18.

Wits’ got their season off to a great start, as goals from Thulani Hlatshwayo, Mxolisi Machupu and Deon Hotto secured a 3-0 home win over Free State Stars on August 4.

The Clever Boys had an unimpressive record on the road in 2017/18, as they claimed just 17 points from 15 matches as hosts, recording four wins, five draws and six defeats.

In head-to-head stats, Chiefs and Wits have met in 64 league matches since 1985. The Amakhosi have claimed 31 wins compared to 12 for the Clever Boys, while 21 matches have been drawn. The Soweto giants have won 13 and lost nine of their 31 home matches in the rivalry.

The teams cancelled each other out last season, playing to 1-1 draws in both of their league clashes. They were the first league draws between Chiefs and Wits since a goalless stalemate in 2013/14.

Chiefs’ line-up from their 1-1 draw with Sundowns on August 4: Khune, Mphahlele (Moleko 87'), Mathoho, Cardoso, Ntiya-Ntiya, Katsande, Ntshangase, Tshabalala (Ekstein 90'), Billiat, Parker, Castro (Paez 81').

Wits’ line-up from their 3-0 win over Stars on August 4: Keet, Hlatshwayo, Johannes, Monare, Hotto, Hlanti, Mkhwanazi, Alexander, Motupa (Mzwakali 81'), Macuphu (Murray 90'), Dzvukamanja (Pelembe 63').

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.