MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2013 Champions?

MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2013 Champions?

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday Aug 07, 2018. 14:30

Platinum Stars added their name to the list of MTN8 winners in 2013 when they overcame nine-time champions Orlando Pirates in the final and wrote a new chapter into the competition’s history.

Dikwena were led by coach Allan Freese, who at the time was not even signed on a permanent contract following the departure of Cavin Johnson to SuperSport United.

The Rustenburg-based side boasted some incredible attacking power and they racked up nine goals in their first three games: a 3-0 triumph over Free State Stars in the quarterfinals was followed by a 6-3 aggregate win over Bidvest Wits in the semis.

Siphelele Mthembu, Mogakolodi Ngele, Henrico Botes and Robert N’gambi formed a fearsome forward line that was simply too much for their opponents to handle.

Orlando Pirates were able to stymie Stars’ attack somewhat in the final at Moses Mabhida Stadium on September 28, allowing only a goal from Ng’ambi as the teams drew 1-1 after extra time.

Yet Dikwena would not be denied and they triumphed 3-1 on penalties to become the fifth different winner of the MTN8 since its rebranding in 2008.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment