MTN8 History: 2014 Flashback

MTN8 History: 2014 Flashback
Kingston Nkhatha of Kaizer Chiefs celebrates his goal with his teammates during the 2014 MTN8 Quarter final match between Kaizer Chiefs and Black Aces at the FNB Stadium, Johannesburg on the 03 August 2014

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Aug 08, 2018. 11:00

The 2014 MTN8 saw a return to glory for Kaizer Chiefs, who picked up their 15th title in the Top Eight after edging arch rivals Orlando Pirates 1-0 in the final at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

Chiefs’ run to the trophy began in the quarterfinals with an emphatic 4-0 win over Mpumalanga Black Aces. The Soweto giants were joined in the final four by their cross-town enemies Pirates (who defeated SuperSport United) as well as Bidvest Wits and Platinum Stars – the former edged Bloemfontein Celtic on penalties, while the latter upset Mamelodi Sundowns.

The semifinals brought impressive aggregate wins for the Amakhosi and Buccaneers. Chiefs trounced Stars 5-0 across the two legs, with midfielder George Maluleka scoring three times, while Pirates crushed Wits 5-1 in a tie which saw goals for Lehlohonolo Majoro (two), Kermit Erasmus, Thabo Matlaba and Siyabonga Sangweni.

The final on September 20 was a predictably tight affair, though Stuart Baxter’s team had the game under control from the 28th minute when defender Tefu Mashamaite headed them into the lead. Pirates threw everything they had at the Glamour Boys, a but their resilient defence held firm to secure a record-extending 15th title for the club.

2014 MTN8 Champions: Kaizer Chiefs (15th title)

2014 MTN8 Top Goal Scorer(s): George Maluleka (Chiefs), 3 goals

2014 MTN8 Last Man Standing award: George Maluleka (Chiefs)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment