MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2014 Champions?

MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2014 Champions?
George Lebese of Kaizer Chiefs (17) celebrates a goal during the MTN8 Quarter Final between Kaizer Chiefs and Maritzburg United on 05 August 2015 at FNB Stadium

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Aug 08, 2018. 14:33

Kaizer Chiefs returned to the MTN8 winners circle in 2014 when they claimed their 15th Top Eight title and a first since 2008, edging Soweto rivals Orlando Pirates in the final.

With manager Stuart Baxter at the helm, the Amakhosi were defensively sound – they didn’t concede a singe goal through their MTN8 campaign – and offered a potent threat going forward, particularly on the counter attack.

They put this on full display with a 4-0 thrashing of Mpumalanga Black Aces in the quarterfinals, featuring a brace from Mandla Masango, before George Maluleka netted three goals across the two legs of a semifinal tie against Platinum Stars which ended 5-0 in favour of the Amakhosi.

Arch rivals Pirates were waiting in the final at Moses Mabhida Stadium on September 20, but even the Buccaneers couldn’t find a way through Chiefs’ resilient defence. They had no reply to Tefu Mashamaite’s first-half header and the Glamour Boys added yet another trophy to their cabinet.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment