MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2015 Champions?

MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2015 Champions?
Roger De Sa former coach of Ajax Cape Town and William Okpara of Orlando Pirates during the MTN8 Launch on 23 July 2015 at The Venue

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Aug 09, 2018. 14:32

Ajax Cape Town upset the odds to claim the MTN8 in 2015 and pick up their first title in the competition, edging perennial champions Kaizer Chiefs in the final in Port Elizabeth.

Led by coach Roger De Sa, the young Urban Warriors were hungry for recognition and demonstrated their potential early in the campaign by winning 1-0 away to Orlando Pirates, thanks to a goal from Ndiviwe Mdabuka.

In the semifinal they found Bidvest Wits a tough opponent to overcome, but ultimately Nathan Paulse saw them through 2-1 on aggregate when he scored the only goal of the return game in Johannesburg.

The final on September 19 at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium was also decided by the beanpole striker, who scored in the 56th minute to see Ajax defeat Kaizer Chiefs 1-0.

The victory saw the Urban Warriors become the sixth different winner of the MTN8 since its rebranding in 2008.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment