MTN8 History: 2016 Flashback

MTN8 History: 2016 Flashback
Daine Klate of Bidvest Wits is challenged by Tiyani Mabunda of Mamelodi Sundowns during the MTN8 Final match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Bidvest Wits on the 01 October 2016 at Mbombela Stadium Pic Sydney Mahlangu/ BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Friday Aug 10, 2018. 11:40

Bidvest Wits claimed their first Top Eight Cup since 1995 (and a third overall) when they romped to victory over Mamelodi Sundowns in the final of the 2016 MTN8.

The Johannesburg side opened their campaign with a 2-1 win over Orlando Pirates in the quarterfinals, with this round also featuring wins for Cape Town City and Chippa United over Kaizer Chiefs and Platinum Stars respectively, while a Tshwane derby saw Sundowns claim a 3-1 win over SuperSport United.

Wits cruised through their semifinal against City, claiming a 3-0 home win in the first leg before seeing out the tie with a goalless draw in the return, while the Brazilians were pushed all the way by Chippa and could only edge the Eastern Cape side 1-0 over the two games, with Anthony Laffor’s 75th minute strike in the return leg proving decisive.

‘Downs were the favourites for the final on October 1 at Mbombela Stadium, but they found themselves a goal down within 60 seconds thanks to Daine Klate’s strike. The winger would go on to add a second, but not before Eleazar Rodgers had also netted, giving the Clever Boys an emphatic 3-0 triumph.

2016 MTN8 Champions: Bidvest Wits (3rd title)
2016 MTN8 Top Goal Scorer(s): Daine Klate & Eleazar Rodgers (both Wits), 2 goals each
2016 MTN8 Last Man Standing award: Daine Klate (Wits)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment