MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2016 Champions?

MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2016 Champions?
Bidvest Wits celebrates during the MTN8 Final match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Bidvest Wits on the 01 October 2016 at Mbombela Stadium Pic Sydney Mahlangu/ BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Friday Aug 10, 2018. 14:30

After Ajax Cape Town had become the sixth different winner of the MTN8 since its rebranding when they lifted the trophy in 2015, the seventh arrived just a year later when Bidvest Wits claimed the trophy.

Gavin Hunt’s Clever Boys opened their campaign by beating Orlando Pirates 2-1 at home thanks to goals from defenders Buhle Mkhwanazi and Thulani Hlatshwayo.

Their forwards got in on the act in the semifinals, with Eleazar Rodgers, Elias Pelembe and Frank Mhango all scoring in a 3-0 win over Cape Town City in the first leg, while the return game ended goalless to see the Johannesburg side through to the final.

Opponents Mamelodi Sundowns were the favourites for the final on October 1 at Mbombela Stadium, but they found themselves a goal down within 60 seconds thanks to Daine Klate’s strike. Rodgers added a second within the opening 20 minutes and Klate netted against in the second half to clinch an emphatic 3-0 win.

The victory saw Wits pick up their third Top Eight title overall and a first since 1995.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment