MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2017 Champions?

MTN8 Winners: Who were the 2017 Champions?
Supersport United winners of the 2017 MTN8 football match between Cape Town City and Supersport United at Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban on 14 October 2017 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Saturday Aug 11, 2018. 14:30

Ronwen Williams was the hero for SuperSport United in their 2017 MTN8 triumph, as he helped Matsatsantsa defeat Cape Town City on penalties in the final.

SuperSport beat Kaizer Chiefs in the quarterfinals thanks to a lone goal from Jeremy Brockie, and the New Zealand striker was at it again in the semifinals – his brace in the second leg against Maritzburg United secured a 2-0 win on the day and 3-1 overall for the Tshwane side.

United had returned to the final for the first time since their heart-breaking defeat to Moroka Swallows in 2012 and were determined to get the better of Cape Town City, who had reached the trophy game for the first time in their short history.

The match at Moses Mabhida Stadium on October 14 ended in a 1-1 draw after United’s Thabo Mnyamane cancelled out Sibusiso Masina’s opener. The post-match shootout saw SuperSport triumph thanks to shot-stopper Williams, who saved kicks from Lyle Lakay and Judas Moseamedi.

The title was SuperSport’s second overall in the Top Eight competition, adding to their first triumph back in 2004.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment