Chiefs still winless following Maritzburg stalemate

Chiefs still winless following Maritzburg stalemate
Siphelele Ntshangase (c) of Kaizer Chiefs challenged by Keagan Buchanan (l) and Siyanda Xulu (r) of Maritzburg United during the Absa Premiership 2018/19 match between Maritzburg United and Kaizer Chiefs at Harry Gwala Stadium, Pietermaritzburg on 17 August 2018 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Bertin Basson

Friday Aug 17, 2018. 21:58

Kaizer Chiefs poor start to the 2018-19 Absa Premiership continued as they were held to a goalless draw by a 10-man Maritzburg United outfit at the Harry Gwala Stadium in Pietermaritzburg on Friday evening.

Siphesihle Ndlovu received his marching orders after 15 minutes following a nasty challenge on Siyabonga Ngezana.

Despite being a man down, it was the team of choice to register the first attempt on goal as Deolin Mekoa fired his attempt inches wide a few minutes later following a defensive mistake by Willard Katsande.

Chiefs kicked into motion soon after as Khama Billiat squandered a golden chance before Hendrick Ekstein guided his attempt onto the woordwork with 26 minutes on the clock.

The Amakhosi continued to struggle in their attempts to break down a depleted Maritzburg outfit following the break as the rain continued to fall in the KwaZulu-Natal province.

Siphiwe Tshabalala rose off the bench in the closing stages and came close to finding the back of the net in the 80th minute. Richard Ofori forced into a top save to deny the midfielder; Siyanda Xulu was then in hand to clear the rebound as Maritzburg put their bodies on the line.

Despite a frantic finish to the encounter, Maritzburg were able to hold on as they registered their first point of the campaign.

Maritzburg United (0) 0

Kaizer Chiefs (0) 0

Maritzburg United: Ofori; Sanoka, De Reuck, Xulu, Tlhone, Buchanan (Farmer 78'), Shandu, Ndlovu, Mekoa, Makgalwa (Kunene 65'), Fileccia (Mokate 54').

Kaizer Chiefs: Khune; Mphahlele, Ngezana, Cardoso, Ntiya-Ntiya (Tshabalala 76'), Katsande, Mahlasela (Moon 59'), Ntshangase, Ekstein, Billiat, Castro (Parker 87').

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.