Gabon fight back to hold Burundi

Gabon fight back to hold Burundi
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of of Gabon is closely marked by Medhi Benatia of Morocco during the 2018 World Cup qualifying game between Morocco and Gabon at the Complexe Mohammed V Stadium in Casablanca, Morocco on 7 October 2017 © Gerard Trilles/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Sep 08, 2018. 19:25

Gabon fought back to hold Burundi to a 1-1 draw in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualification Group C match at the Stade d'Angondjé in Libreville on Saturday evening.

The draw saw the Panthers remain third on the Group C standings, while the Swallows also remain top of the table.

England-based striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang started upfront as the Panthers looked to secure their first win in the Group C campaign.

On the other hand, England-based forward Saido Berahino was making his official debut for the Swallows.

The Stoke City FC marksman began life as a Burundi international with a goal seven minutes before the half-time break.

Berahino beat Gabon goalkeeper Didier Ovono to make it 1-0 to Burundi - stunning the home crowd into silence.

The Panthers tried to push for the equalising goal with the half-time break fast approaching.

However, Burundi were able to hold on to their slender lead and they were leading 1-0 at the interval.

Gabon pressed Burundi after the restart with Arsenal FC striker Aubameyang working tirelessly for the hosts upfront.

The 2015 African Player of the Year did get the goal he had been looking for in the closing stages of the game.

Aubameyang beat Burundi shot-stopper Jonathan Nahimana with a tap-in to make it 1-1 for Gabon much to the delight of the home crowd.

Burundi then contained Gabon until Seychelles match referee Bernard Camille blew the final whistle until the game ended in a 1-1 draw.

Gabon (0) 1 (Aubameyang 73')
Burundi (1) 1 (Berahino 38')

Gabon: Ovono, Palun, Ecuele Manga, Appindangoye, Obiang, Ngoulay, Lemina, Pocko, Kanga, Meye, Aubameyang.

Burundi: Burundi XI: Nahimana, Nizigiyimana, Nduwarugira, Nsabiyumva, Ngando, Omar, Bigirimana, Hamissi, Nahimana, Berahino, Abdoul Razzak.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment