Chippa chase first win of the season

Chippa chase first win of the season
Zitha Macheke of Chippa United is challenged by Evans Rusike of Supersport United during the Absa Premiership match between Supersport United and Chippa United on the 29 August 2018 at Lucas Moripe Stadium/ Pic Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Friday Sep 14, 2018. 11:50

Chippa United will chase a first win of the Absa Premiership season when they host Baroka FC at Sisa Dukashe Stadium on 15 September 2018, kick-off at 15h00.

Chippa suffered a third defeat from their four league matches when they were beaten 2-1 at SuperSport United on August 29. The result was an inauspicious start to the tenure of new coach Eric Tinkler.

The Chilli Boys have claimed one point from two home matches so far this season, with their last turn as hosts bringing a 2-2 draw with Black Leopards.

Baroka saw their winless run extended to three matches when they drew 1-1 at home to Highlands Park on August 29. The Limpopo side needed a last-gasp equaliser from Ranga Chivaviro to salvage a point.

Bakgaga have lost both of their away games so far this season, going down 1-0 at AmaZulu and 2-0 at Polokwane City.

In head-to-head stats, Chippa and Baroka have met in four league matches since 2016/17. The Chilli Boys have claimed two wins compared to one for Bakgaga, while one match has been drawn. The Eastern Cape side has recorded one win and one defeat from two matches as hosts in the rivalry.

Last season Baroka took four points off Chippa, winning 3-1 in the Eastern Cape (with a brace from Gift Motupa) before holding the Chilli Boys 0-0 at home in the return game. That last result was the first draw between the teams.

Chippa’s line-up from their 2-1 loss to SuperSport on August 29: Akpeyi, Macheke, Nthethe, Nsabiyumba, Tlolane, Sangweni, Shongwe (Komane 46’), Mayambela (Seakanyeng 85’), Lentjies (Manzini 60’), Klate, Mbenyane.

Baroka’s line-up from their 1-1 draw with Highlands on August 29: Chipzeze, Banda, Chawapiwa (Onkabetse 53’), Chivaviro, Gebhardt, Kgoetyane, Madubanya, Makgaka, Makume (Mdatsane 77’), Maliba, Matloga (Kgaswane 59’).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment