Chiefs chase hat-trick of wins

Chiefs chase hat-trick of wins
George Maluleka of Kaizer Chiefs during the Absa Premiership 2018/19 match between Free State Stars and Kaizer Chief at Goble Park Stadium, Bethlehemon 18 September 2018 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Friday Sep 21, 2018. 14:00

Kaizer Chiefs will chase a hat-trick of wins in the Absa Premiership when they host AmaZulu at FNB Stadium on 22 September 2018, kick-off at 18h00.

Chiefs claimed their second win of the season (and in succession) when they defeated Free State Stars 2-0 away from home on September 18, thanks to goals from Gustavo Paez and Philani Zulu.

The Amakhosi will be chasing their first home win of the 2018/19 campaign. Their two previous turns as hosts have brought them a 3-1 loss to Bidvest Wits and 2-2 draw with Bloemfontein Celtic.

AmaZulu come into the match having recorded their first draw of the season. The Durban side were held 3-3 at home by champions Mamelodi Sundowns on September 16, with their goals scored by Butholezwe Ncube, Jabulani Ncubeni and Bongi Ntuli.

Usuthu have suffered defeats from both of their two away games so far this term, going down 1-0 at SuperSport United and 3-0 at Bidvest Wits.

In head-to-head stats, AmaZulu and Chiefs have met in 54 league matches since 1985. The Amakhosi have claimed 33 wins compared to seven for Usuthu, while 14 matches have been drawn. The Soweto side has won 20 of their 28 home league matches against their Durban counterparts, suffering just two defeats in the process.

Last season the teams played out goalless stalemates in both of their league clashes. Despite this, Chiefs have put together an 18-game unbeaten run in the league against AmaZulu which stretches back to the 2006/07 campaign.

Chiefs’ line-up from their 2-0 win over Stars on September 18: Khune, Walusimbi, Ngezana, Booysen, Moleko, Katsande (Andrianarimanana 89'), Maluleka, Ekstein, Zulu, Paez (Moon 70), Billiat (Mahlasela 81').

AmaZulu’s line-up from their 3-3 draw with Sundowns on September 16: Josephs, Sikhakhane, Mabiliso, Nyongo, M Gumede, Ncube, Vilakazi, Ramphela (Darpoh 85'), Ncobeni (Cele 75'), Sithebe, Ntuli (Khenyeza 87').

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.