Stars, Celtic set for provincial derby

Stars, Celtic set for provincial derby
Ndumiso Mabena of Bloemfontein Celtic and Nhlanhla Vilakazi of Free State Stars during the Absa Premiership 2017/18 game between Bloemfontein Celtic and Free State Stars at Dr Molemela Stadium in Bloemfontein on 10 December 2017 © Frikkie Kapp/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Friday Oct 05, 2018. 11:45

Free State Stars and Bloemfontein Celtic will meet for an eagerly-anticipated Absa Premiership derby at Goble Park on 6 October 2018, kick-off at 15h30.

Stars suffered their fifth defeat of the season when they were beaten 1-0 at Chippa United on October 3. The Free State side has won just one of their last seven league games.

Ea Lla Koto have picked up seven points from a possible 12 at home this season, with their last result as hosts a 1-0 win over Highlands Park in September.

Celtic have won just one of their last four league games after they were held 0-0 at home by Mamelodi Sundowns.

Phunya Sele Sele have a good away record this season, with seven points taken from a possible nine. Their last match as a visiting team saw them win 1-0 at Black Leopards in mid-September.

In head-to-head stats, Celtic and Stars have met in 54 league matches since 1986. Ea Lla Koto have claimed 18 wins compared to 14 for Phunya Sele Sele, while 22 matches have been drawn. The Bethlehem side have won 12 of their 27 home matches against their provincial rivals, suffering five defeats in the process.

Last season Celtic took four points off Stars in the teams’ two league meetings – Phunya Sele Sele won 3-0 at home in the first half of the campaign, while the return game ended in a 1-1 draw. Forward Victor Letsoalo scored three goals across the two matches for the team in green and white.

Stars’ line-up from their 1-0 loss to Chippa on October 3: Sangare, Ndiki, Tema, Mahamutsa, Phungwayo, Jappie (Jantjie 59’), Mahamutsa, Makhaula, Dlamini, Tchilimbou (Bhengu 70’), Rodgers (Moseamedi 74’).

Celtic’s line-up from their 0-0 draw with Sundowns on October 3: Tignyemb, De Jongh, Sam, Gordinho, Pfumbidzai, Masuku, Phalane, Mashikinya, Dlamini (Letsoalo 71’), Mabaso (Potsane 58’), Mabena.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.