Potent attack spearheads Super Eagles' squad for SA

Potent attack spearheads Super Eagles' squad for SA
Odion Ighalo (R)

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday Oct 30, 2018. 15:14

Gernot Rohr has named his squad for Nigeria's 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against South Africa at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg next month.

The Super Eagles head into the clash atop of Group E after four rounds of fixtures, having claimed back-to-back wins over Libya earlier this month.

Victory for Nigeria will book their place at next year's showpiece in Cameroon ahead of their final group game at home to Seychelles in the new year.

Rohr will be without Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi for the clash. He will miss the trip to South Africa through suspension while John Mikel Obi has asked to be excused due to personal reasons.

"We give opportunities to our young players like [Victor] Osimhen and [Samuel] Chukwueze, and also hoping to have our captain Mikel Obi back whenever he is ready to come," Rohr is quoted as saying by BBC Sport.

Nigeria will be aiming to exact revenge on their hosts following a 2-0 defeat to Bafana Bafana in the reverse fixture, in Uyo last year.

Nigeria 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Elche, Spain); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba); Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino, Italy); Adeleye Aniyikaye (FC IfeanyiUbah); Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia); William Ekong (Udinese, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn, Germany)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Vitoria Setubal, Portugal)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nasr, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (Levante, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Royal Charleroi SC, Belgium); Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England); Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux, France); Isaac Success (Watford, England); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal, Spain)

Standby: Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray, Turkey); Chidozie Awaziem (Porto, Portugal); Nyima Nwagua (Kano Pillars); Sunday Adetunji (Enyimba); Junior Lokosa (Kano Pillars)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.