Serero receives Bafana Bafana recall

Serero receives Bafana Bafana recall
Thulani Serero of South Africa celebrates his goal during 2018 World Cup Qualifiers match between South Africa and Senegal at Peter Mokab Stadium, November on the 12 November 2016 © Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Monday Nov 05, 2018. 13:17

Bafana Bafana head coach Stuart Baxter has named his side for this month's 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Nigeria.

Following injuries to Bongani Zungu, Dean Furman and most recently Kamohelo Mokotjo, there is a return to the squad for Vitesse midfielder Thulani Serero.

Maritzburg United's Fortune Makaringe has also been included in the squad following a string of impressive performances for the KwaZulu-Natal outfit. Mamelodi Sundowns duo Themba Zwane and Tiyani Mabunda have also received a recall.

South Africa play host to the Super Eagles at FNB Stadium on Saturday 17th November. Nigeria currently top Group E after four rounds of fixtures with Bafana Bafana in second spot.

Bafana Bafana Squad:


Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits


Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Sundowns), Siyanda Xulu (Maritzburg), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Innocent Maela (Pirates), S'fiso Hlanti(Wits), Buhle Mkhwanazi (Wits) Thamsanqa Mkhize (CT City).


Vincent Pule (Pirates), Lebohang Maboe (Sundowns), Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns), Fortune Makaringe (Maritzburg), Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport), Tiyani Mabunda (Sundowns), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates)


Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Percy Tau (Royal Union), Dino Ndlovu (Zhejiang), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.