Salah, Mane and Aubameyang short-listed for CAF player of the year

Salah, Mane and Aubameyang short-listed for CAF player of the year
Liverpool's Sadio Mane

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Jan 02, 2019. 09:15

The English-based trio of Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang have been short-listed for the Confederation of African Football (CAF) player of the year award 2018.

It is the second straight year that the trio will battle it out for the prestigious African gong.

Liverpool and Egypt forward Salah is the current title holder and will enter as favourite to retain the prize after a fine first half of the season for the Reds.

The Pharaohs attacker will be hoping to become the fourth player to win back-to-back titles after Senegal forward El Hadji Diouf, Cameroon striker Samuel Eto'o and Ivory Coast midfielder Yaya Toure.

Senegal and Liverpool forward Mane is yet to win the prize but has been on an upward trajectory in the past two years, finishing third in 2016 and second in 2017.

Gabon and Arsenal striker Aubameyang made the final three for the fifth time in succession, equalling the record set by Toure and former Ghana international midfielder Michael Essien.

His only victory came in 2015 when he beat Toure and Ghanaian Andre Ayew to the prize.

The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony in Dakar, Senegal on January 8.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.