Chippa look to break winless streak

Chippa look to break winless streak
Mark Mayambela of Chippa United and Latshene Phalane of Bloemfontein Celtic during the Absa Premiership 2018/19 game between Bloemfontein Celtic and Chippa United at Dr Molemela Stadium in Bloemfontein on 5 August 2018 © Frikkie Kapp/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Friday Jan 04, 2019. 10:15

Chippa United will look to break their winless streak in the Absa Premiership when they host Bloemfontein Celtic at the Sisa Dukashe Stadium on 4 January 2019, kick-off at 20h00.

Chippa have gone eight league matches without a win after they were beaten 2-0 at Bidvest Wits on December 21. The Eastern Cape side last claimed a three-pointer in early October.

The Chilli Boys have claimed just eight points from seven home matches this season, with their last result as hosts a 2-2 draw with Polokwane City in mid-December.

Celtic come into the clash on the back of a four-game losing streak, with their last outing in 2018 ending in a 3-2 defeat away to Cape Town City. The Bloemfontein side threw away a two-goal advantage in the match.

Phunya Sele Sele have claimed 10 points from seven away matches this season. Their last win on the road was at Bidvest Wits in November.

In head-to-head stats, Chippa and Celtic have met in 11 league matches since 2012/13. Phunya Sele Sele have claimed five wins compared to three for the Chilli Boys, while three matches have been drawn. The Port Elizabeth side has won two of their five home matches in the rivalry and suffered one defeat in the process.

When the teams met earlier this season in Bloemfontein, Celtic claimed a 2-0 home win thanks to goals from Tebogo Potsane and Tshegofatso Mabaso. Phunya Sele Sele are unbeaten in their last five league matches against the Chilli Boys.

Chippa’s line-up from their 2-0 loss to Wits on December 21: Akpeyi, Macheke, Nsabiyumva, Nthethe (Shongwe 68'), Tlolane, Mokeke, Sangweni, Rakhale, Mayambela (Klate 83'), Manzini, Mbenyane (Lentjies 62').

Celtic’s line-up from their 3-2 loss to City on December 22: Dambe, Sam, Letlabika, Lingwati, Rikhotso, Baloyi, Mashikinya (De Jongh 66'), Dlamini (Maema 36'), Phalane, Mabena, Masuku (Mangweni 81').

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.