Wits look to extend winning streak

Wits look to extend winning streak
Terrence Dzvukamanja of Bidvest Wits celebrates a goal with teammates during the Absa Premiership match between Kaizer Chiefs and Bidvest Wits on the 07 August 2018 at FNB Stadium Pic Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Jan 09, 2019. 12:00

Bidvest Wits will look to continue their winning streak in the Absa Premiership when they host Kaizer Chiefs at Bidvest Stadium on 9 January 2019, kick-off at 19h30.

Wits claimed a third straight win (and a fourth from their last five unbeaten matches) when they defeated Free State Stars 2-1 away on January 5, with Elias Pelembe scoring a decisive second-half goal.

The Clever Boys have taken 13 points from eight home matches this season, with their last result as hosts a 2-0 win over Chippa United just before the festive-season break last month.

Chiefs suffered their fifth league defeat of the season when they were beaten 2-1 at home by Mamelodi Sundowns on January 5. The Soweto side has lost four of their last seven outings in the Premiership.

The Amakhosi have claimed 10 points from eight away matches this season, with their last result on the road a 2-1 loss at Golden Arrows in early December.

In head-to-head stats, Chiefs and Wits have met in 65 league matches since 1985. The Amakhosi have claimed 31 wins compared to 13 for the Clever Boys, while 21 matches have been drawn. The University-based team has won three and lost 18 of their 33 home matches in the rivalry.

When the teams met earlier this season, Wits claimed a 3-1 win at FNB Stadium thanks to goals from Deon Hotto, Terrence Dzvukamanja and Gift Motupa. The Clever Boys are unbeaten in their last three league matches against the Amakhosi.

Wits’ line-up from their 2-1 win over Stars on January 5: Keet, Mere, Mkhwanazi, Johannes, Nonyane, Gyimah, Alexander, Dzvukamanja (Claasen 66'), Hotto, Pelembe (Weidlich 83'), Majoro (Murray 70').

Chiefs’ line-up from their 2-1 loss to Sundowns on January 5: Vries, Walusimbi (Hadebe 46'), Cardoso, Booysen, Ntiya-Ntiya, Katsande (Mahlasela 71'), Maluleka, Ekstein (Parker 46'), Manyama, Billiat, Castro.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.