SuperSport, Chiefs looking to spark title challenge

SuperSport, Chiefs looking to spark title challenge
Evans Rusike of Supersport United challenged by Lebogang Manyama of Kaizer Chiefs during the Absa Premiership 2018/19 match between Kaizer Chiefs and Supersport United at the Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit on 12 December 2018 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Friday Mar 15, 2019. 11:00

SuperSport United and Kaizer Chiefs will both be looking to spark a late run for the Absa Premiership title when they meet at Mbombela Stadium on 15 March 2019, kick-off at 20h00.

SuperSport claimed a fifth win from their last six league matches when they edged Free State Stars 1-0 at home on March 10. Mxolisi Machupu scored for the third game in succession.

Matsatsantsa have claimed 22 points from 11 home matches this season, recording seven wins, one draw and three defeats through 2018/19.

Chiefs are unbeaten in their last four league matches and claimed a ninth win of the season when they defeated Maritzburg United 1-0 at home on March 9.

The Amakhosi have claimed 17 points from 11 away matches this season, with their last result on the road a 1-1 draw at Polokwane City on February 23.

In head-to-head stats, SuperSport and Chiefs have met in 56 league matches since 1990. Matsatsantsa and Amakhosi have both recorded 20 wins, while 16 matches have been drawn. The Tshwane side has won eight of their 27 home matches in the rivalry, suffering eight defeats in the process.

When the teams met earlier this season, also at the Mbombela Stadium in December 2018, Chiefs claimed a 1-0 home win thanks to a goal from former SuperSport player George Maluleka. The Amakhosi have won four of their last five league games against United.

SuperSport’s line-up from their 1-0 win over Stars on March 10: Williams, Nhlapo, Kekana, Daniels, Bhasera, Furman, Mokoena (Keene 85'), Lebese (Mahlatsi 66'), Rusike, Macuphu, Grobler (Webber 80').

Chiefs’ line-up from their 1-0 win over Maritzburg on March 9: Bvuma, Mphahlele, Moleko, Cardoso, Zuma, Maluleka, Zulu (Katsande 26'), Ntiya-Ntiya, Billiat (Ngcobo 46'), Castro (Moon 80'), Parker.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.