2019 Africa Cup of Nations Groups

2019 Africa Cup of Nations Groups

by Staff Reporter

Friday Apr 12, 2019. 22:14

Welcome to our coverage of the draw for the 2019 AFCON finals, which are being held in Cairo, Egypt.

Draw Pots

Pot 1: Egypt‚ Cameroon‚ Senegal‚ Tunisia‚ Nigeria‚ Morocco

Pot 2: DR Congo‚ Ghana‚ Mali‚ Cote d’Ivoire‚ Guinea‚ Algeria

Pot 3: South Africa‚ Uganda‚ Benin‚ Mauritania‚ Madagascar‚ Kenya

Pot 4: Zimbabwe‚ Namibia‚ Guinea-Bissau‚ Angola‚ Tanzania‚ Burundi


21h30 - Moroccan legend Mustapha Hadji, Ivory Coast star Yaya Toure, former Senegal star El Hadji Diouf and Egyptian football icon Hassan Hassan will conduct the draw.

21h45 - Tournament hosts, Egypt have been drawn with Zimbabwe and Uganda in Group A thus far.

21h50 - Group A has been completed by DR Congo, who will make their fourth successive appearance in the finals.

21h55 - Group B consists of Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar and Burundi.

22h00 - Former AFCON champions Alegria are in Group C alongside Senegal, Kenya and Tanzania.

22h05 - Group D is considered to be the Group of Death as it contains former AFCON champions Morocco, South Africa and Ivory Coast. They are joined by Namibia.

22h07 - North African giants Tunisia have been pitted against Mali, Mauritania and Angola in Group E.

22h10 - Lastly, reigning AFCON champions Cameroon find themselves in Group F alongside Ghana, Benin and Guinea-Bissau.

22h15 - The 24-team tournament will be held between June 21 to July 19 in Egypt.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.