Celtic look to extend Chiefs’ winless run

Celtic look to extend Chiefs’ winless run
Dumisani Zuma of Kaizer Chiefs challenged by Tebogo Potsane of Bloemfontein Celtics during the Absa Premiership 2018/19 match between Kaizer Chiefs and Bloemfontein Celtics at the FNB Stadium, Johannesburg on 29 August 2018 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by BackPageTXT

Friday Apr 26, 2019. 12:00

Bloemfontein Celtic will look to extend Kaizer Chiefs’ winless run in the Absa Premiership when the teams meet at Peter Mokaba Stadium on 27 April 2019, kick-off at 20h15.

Celtic ended their six-game winless streak by defeating Polokwane City 2-1 away from home on April 24, with a late winner from Ndumiso Mabena.

Phunya Sele Sele have claimed 15 points from 12 home matches this season, with their last result as hosts a 4-2 loss to Bidvest Wits in mid-March.

Chiefs have gone four league matches without a win after they were held 1-1 at home by Golden Arrows on April 23. The Soweto giants last won a league game at home to Maritzburg United in early March.

The Amakhosi have claimed 19 points from 13 away matches this season, with their last result on the road a 1-1 draw at Black Leopards in mid-April.

In head-to-head terms, Celtic and Chiefs have met in 62 league matches since 1985, with the Soweto giants claiming 33 wins compared to 10 for their Bloemfontein counterparts, while 19 games have been drawn. Phunya Sele Sele have won just eight of their 30 home league matches in the rivalry, suffering 10 defeats in the process.

When the teams met earlier this season, at FNB Stadium in August 2018, they played out a 2-2 draw: Khama Billiat and Khoto Malope scored for Chiefs, while Menzi Masuku and Ndumiso Mabena were on target for Celtic. Five of the teams’ last six league meetings have ended in draws.

Celtic’s line-up from their 2-1 win over Polokwane on April 24: Tignyemb; Mahashe, Rikhotso, Baloyi, Phalane, Masuku, Mashikinya, Sam, Mabena, Dlamini (De Jongh 86'), Maema.

Chiefs’ line-up from their 1-1 draw with Arrows on April 23: Akpeyi, Frosler, Cardoso, Moleko, Ntiya-Ntiya (Molangoane 74'), Katsande, Zulu, Andrianarimanana (Maluleka 75'), Zuma, Ekstein (Moon 46'), Parker.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.