Sundowns chase key win in title race

Sundowns chase key win in title race
Lebohang Maboe of Mamelodi Sundowns gets his pass away during the 2019 TOTAL CAF Champions League match between Mamelodi Sundowns and Wydad Athletic Club at Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium in Rabat, Morocco, 26 April 2019. EPA/STR.

by BackPageTXT

Friday May 03, 2019. 17:00

Mamelodi Sundowns will chase a key win in the Absa Premiership title race when they host Golden Arrows at Loftus Versfeld Stadium on 7 May 2019, kick-off at 19h30.

Sundowns claimed a third successive league win (in the midst of their African club competition commitments) when they defeated Black Leopards 2-1 away from home on Aparil 30, thanks to goals from Gaston Sirino and Tebogo Langerman.

The Brazilians have claimed 22 points from 14 home matches this season, with their last result as hosts a 3-2 win over Chippa United on April 23.

Arrows extended their unbeaten run in the league to five matches with a 2-1 win at home to Free State Stars, featuring a brace of goals from Zimbabwean striker Knox Mutizwa.

Abafana Bes’thende have claimed 15 points from 14 away matches this season, with their last result on the road a 1-1 draw with Kaizer Chiefs on April 23.

In head-to-head stats, Arrows and Sundowns have met in 35 league matches since 2000/01. The Brazilians have claimed 18 wins compared to nine for Abafana Bes’thende, while eight matches have been drawn. The Tshwane side has won nine of their 17 home matches against their Durban counterparts, suffering two defeats in the process.

When the teams met earlier this season, at Princess Magogo Stadium in September 2018, Sundowns claimed a 1-0 away win thanks to a goal from Lebohang Maboe. The Brazilians have put together a five-match winning streak against Abafana Bes’thende.

Sundowns’ line-up from their 2-1 win over Leopards on April 30: Onyango, Ngcongca, Arendse, Lebusa, Coetzee, Langerman, Kekana (Mahlambi 86’), Zwane (Lakay 74’), Morena, Vilakazi, Sirino (Tade 76’).

Arrows’ line-up from their 2-1 win over Stars on April 28: Mbaeva, Sibisi, Mathiane, Bilankulu, Motebejane, Matloga (Sibeko 81’), Phiri, Venter, Sibiya (Sabelo 59’), Mathenjwa (Lamola 89’), Mutizwa.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.