Congratulations Absa Premiership winners Mamelodi Sundowns

Congratulations Absa Premiership winners Mamelodi Sundowns

by Staff Reporter

Sunday May 12, 2019. 16:00

Mamelodi Sundowns were crowned the 2018/19 Absa Premiership Champions in the South African top flight on Saturday, May 11.

The Braizlians won their last league game of the season 1-0 against Free State Stars which saw them finish on 59 points, two points above second-placed Orlando Pirates.

Sundowns’ title triumph is their ninth championship in the PSL era, and a third in the last four seasons.

Coach Pitso Mosimane has joined Gordon Igesund on four PSL titles as a manager – while Igesund’s arrived at four different teams, Mosimane’s have all been with Sundowns.

Sundowns’ points tally of 59 is the lowest to win the championship since Kaizer Chiefs’ 57 in 2012/13.

Their leading goal scorer in the Absa Premiership this season was Lebohang Maboe, with eight strikes.

The Brazilians won five successive league matches in the space of 21 days to secure the 2018/19 Absa Premiership title.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.