Mtasa announces Zimbabwe's provisional COSAFA & AFCON squad

Mtasa announces Zimbabwe's provisional COSAFA & AFCON squad
Nyasha Mushekwi of Zimbabwe

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday May 18, 2019. 12:00

Zimbabwe assistant coach Lloyd Mutasa has named the 34 players in the provisional squad for the COSAFA and AFCON tournaments.

The team will leave for South Africa for the COSAFA tournament set to run from 25 May to 8 June, and while there, part of the squad will fly to play a friendly match against Nigeria on 8 June. After the match against Nigeria, the Warriors will proceed to Egypt to get enough time to acclimatise to weather conditions in the host country.

The majority of the players will report for camp on 20 May while Nyasha Mushekwi will only join the team in June because the Chinese league is currently underway. Dennis Dauda, Tafadzwa Rusike and Jimmy Dzingai in the Zambian Super League will also join a few days later than the 20th.

Mutasa said that the goal is to surpass attempts by previous three campaigners in 2004, 2006 & 2017 when the Warriors were eliminated at the group stage.
COSAFA and AFCON Provisional Squad

George Chigova, Edmore Sibanda, Elvis Chipezeze, Talbert Shumba

Dennis Dauda, Lawrence Mhlanga, Jimmy Dzingai, Byron Madzokere, Alec Mudimu, Teenage Hadebe, Divine Lunga, Ronald Pfumbidzai, Tendai Darikwa

Danny Phiri, Marshall Munetsi, Marvelous Nakamba, Butholezwe Ncube, Tafadzwa Kutinyu, Ovidy Karuru, Khama Billiat, Kudakwashe Mahachi, Tafadzwa Rusike, Richard Hachiro, Talent Chawapihwa, Leeroy Mavunga, Knowledge Musona, Thabani Kamusoko, Rodwell Chinyengetere

Nyasha Mushekwi, Evans Rusike, Walter Musona, Tinotenda Kadewere, Knox Mutizwa, Admiral Muskwe

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.