Lorch wins big, Musonda ignored at PSL awards

Lorch wins big, Musonda ignored at PSL awards
Thembinkosi Lorch of Orlando Pirates

by Staff Reporter

Monday May 20, 2019. 10:00

The South African Premier Soccer League held their end of season awards on Sunday, 19 May and Orlando Pirate's Thembinkosi Lorch was the biggest winner on the night.

Despite Pirates falling agonizingly short of claiming the league title, Lorch had an outstanding season with 32 appearances across all competitions which saw him score 13 goals and rack-up seven assists.

His league stats were the most impressive with 26 appearances, nine goals and seven assists, while not forgetting he found the back of the net four times in the Telkom Knokcout.

For his efforts this season he was rewarded with the Players' Player of the Season and the PSL Footballer of the Season awards.

Absa Premiership league champions, Mamelodi Sundowns also won big on the night with Hlompho Kekana picking up the Midfielder of the Season award while Pitso Mosimane won the Coach of the Season award and Ricardo Nascimento was named the Defender of the Season.

SuperSport United were also recipients of awards as Ronwen Williams and Teboho Mokoena were named Goalkeeper of the Season and Young Player of the Season respectively.

One man who may feel bitter about not receiving an award is Black Leopards striker Mwape Musonda who finished the league as the leading goalscorer. Musonda had 16 goals to his name, in what was a difficult season for the club, seven goals better off than his closest competitor.

Full awards:
PSL Footballer of the Season: Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)
Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United)
Absa Premiership Defender of the Season: Ricardo Nacimento (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season: Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Absa Premiership Young player of the Season: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United)
Absa Premiership Players’ Player of the Season: Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates)
Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)
MTN8 Last man standing: Peter Leeuwenburgh (Cape Town City)
Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC)
Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy)
Nedbank Most promising player: Terrence Mashego (TS Galaxy)
Multichoice Diski Challenge Player of the Tournament: Sipho Chaine (Bloemfontein Celtic)
Diski Shield Player of the Tournament: Siboniso Conco (Golden Arrows)
Absa Premiership Goal of the Season: Vincent Pule (Orlando Pirates) vs Polokwane City

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.