Defending champs Zimbabwe overcome Comoros

Defending champs Zimbabwe overcome Comoros
Khama Billiat of Zimbabwe (R)

by Staff Reporter

Sunday Jun 02, 2019. 10:04

Zimbabwe secured a 2-0 win over Comoros in the 2019 COSAFA Cup quarter-final match at the Princess Magogo Stadium in South Africa on Saturday evening.

The defending champions advanced to the semi-finals, while Les Coelacantes will participate in the plate semi-finals.

The Warriors got off to the perfect start as they broke the deadlock through Evans Rusike just six minutes into the encounter.

The SuperSport United forward scored with a glancing header which beat Fahad Mohamed in Comoros goal-posts to make it 1-0 to Zimbabwe.

Khama Billiat then began tormenting the Les Coelacantes defence with his dribbling skills and good runs into the box.

The Kaizer Chiefs attacker's effort was well-saved by Mohamed as the Warriors pushed for their second goal of the night.

Zimbabwe did double their lead in the 36th minute and it was Billiat, who scored with a first-time effort which beat Mohamed hands down to make it 2-0.

Comoros did threaten through their star forward Ibroihim Youssouf, whose effort missed the target with the half-time break approaching.

Zimbabwe were deservedly leading 2-0 at the interval against Comoros.

The Warriors continued to press Les Coelacantes after the restart and they came close to extending their lead through their main striker Rusike.

However, the marksman's left-footed shot was well-saved by Mohamed, who was the busier of the two goalkeepers on the night.

Ali Nabil was introduced by Comoros coach Mohamed Chamite after the hour-mark as Les Coelacantes looked to pull one back.

Chamite's counterpart, Sunday Marimo Chidzambwa responded by introducing Knox Mutizwa, who is a striker by trade, as the Warriors searched for more goals.

Both teams launched late attacks, but they could not find the back of the net and ultimately, Zimbabwe overcame Comoros 2-0.

Zimbabwe (2) 2 (Rusike 6', Billiat 36')
Comoros (0) 0

Zimbabwe: Sibanda, Darikwa, Pfumbidzai, Mudimu, Kamusoko, Dzingai, Ncube (Kutinyu 89'), Karuru, Billiat, Kadewere (Mutizwa 69'), Rusike (Musona 77').

Comoros: Mohamed, Bakri, Djaloudi (Zamir 84'), Malaga, Ali, Fasoiha (Nabil 66'), Raidou, Elhadad, Chadhuli,Youssouf (Botomanga 87'), Ibounyamine.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.