Gyan to spearhead Ghana's AFCON charge

Gyan to spearhead Ghana's AFCON charge
Ghana Players

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday Jun 11, 2019. 17:00

Ghana head coach Kwesi Appiah has named his final 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations hosted in Egypt.

Having made an almost instant U-turn on his decision to quit international football, the Black Stars leading goalscorer, Asamoah Gyan, will lead his country's attack.

Majeed Waris is arguably the biggest casualty following a solid season in France, but besides the striker's omission, there were no real surprises with many familiar faces ready to set alight the Africa Cup of Nations once more.

Four-time champions Ghana, who last won the continental crown in 1982, have been drawn in Group F alongside Cameroon, Benin and Guinea-Bissau.

The Black Stars have finished within the top four at the last six AFCON tournaments. They will face South Africa in an international friendly match on the 15th of June in Dubai before making their way to Egypt.

Full Squad List:


Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Lawrence Ati-Zigi (Sochaux, France), Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana)


Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Abdul Rahman Baba (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe, Turkey), Kasim Nuhu Adams (Hoffenheim, Germany,) John Boye (Metz, France), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Joseph Attamah (Istanbul Basaksehir, Turkey)


Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Teye Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionale, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland)


Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Kwabena Owusu (Leganes, Spain)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.