Samatta headlines Tanzania's final AFCON squad

Samatta headlines Tanzania's final AFCON squad
Genk's Mbwana Samatta celebrates after scoring

by Austin Ditlhobolo

Thursday Jun 13, 2019. 15:00

Tanzania head coach Emmanuel Amunike has announced his final squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) finals.

The 23-man squad is headlined by Belgium-based forward Mbwana Samatta.

The Taifa Stars will face Egypt and Zimbabwe in friendly matches as part of their preparations for the tournament.

Amunike's men will face Egypt and Zimbabwe on Thursday, and Saturday respectively.

Tanzania are in Group C alongside Kenya, Algeria and Senegal.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Aishi Manula (Simba SC),Metacha Mhata (Mbao FC) and Aron Kalambo (TZ Prisons).

Defenders: Hassan Ramadan (Nkana FC), Vincent Phillipo (Mbao FC), Gadiel Michael (Young Africans), Ally Mtoni (Lipuli FC), Mohammed Hussein (Simba SC), Kelvin Yondani (Young Africans), Erasto Nyoni (Simba SC) and Agrey Moris (Azam FC)

Midfielders: Feisal Salum (Young Africans), Himid Mao (Petrojet FC), Mudathir Yahya (Azam FC), Frank Domayo (Azam FC), Farid Mussa (Tenerife) and Yahya Zayd (Ismailia).

Forwards: Rashid Mandawa (BDF), Mbwana Samatta (Genk), Thomas Ulimwengu (JS Saoura), John Bocco (Simba SC), Abdillanie Mussa (Blackpool) and Simon Msuva (Difaä El Jadid).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.