Madagascar claim DRC scalp to advance in Egypt

Madagascar claim DRC scalp to advance in Egypt
Ibrahim Samuel Amada of Madagascar celebrates goal with teammates during the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Last 16 match between Madagascar and DR Congo at the Alexandria Stadium, Alexandria on the 07 July 2019 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by BackPageTXT

Sunday Jul 07, 2019. 19:50

Madagascar booked their place in the quarterfinals of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations with a 4-2 penalty shootout win over Democratic of Republic at Alexandria Stadium on Sunday.

Locked at 2-2 after extra-time, the game would be decided from the penalty spot. Madagascar scored all four of their attempts while Marcel Tisserand and Yannick Bolasie both sent their shots over the crossbar as DR Congo crashed out of the African showpiece.

Barea will face either Ghana or Tunisia for a place in the final four of this year's tournament.

Ibrahim Amada fired Madagascar in front after just nine minutes. The Malagasy midfielder sent a left-footed rocket into the corner of the net as the island nation continued from where they left off against Nigeria.

DR Congo levelled matters in the 21st minute through Cedric Bakambu. The China-based forward nodding home a pin-point cross from Ngonda Muzinga for his third goal of the tournament.

Madagascar regained their lead through captain Faneva Imà Andriatsima in the 77th minute and his goal looked sure to send the island nation into the quarterfinals, but Chancel Mbemba had other ideas; as he found the back of the net in the final minute of regulation time.

Following an extra-time period dominated by DR Congo, the game would be decided from the penalty spot as the Leopards failed to find the killer blow.

Madagascar duly came up trumps, sinking all four of their penalties before Bolasie's decisive miss sent DR Congo packing.

Madagascar (1) 2 (Amada 9' Andriatsima 77')

DR Congo (1) 2 (Bakambu 21' Mbemba 90')

Madagascar won 4-2 on penalties.

Madagascar: Adrien; Andrea (Morel 106'), Pascal, Andriatsima (Rakotoharimalala 112'), Nomenjanahary (Caloin 89'), Amada, Raveloson (Andrianarimanana 58'), Metanire, Fontaine, Mombris, Anicet.

DR Congo: Matampi; Djos, Muzinga, Tisserand, Chadrack (Bolasie 70'), Mulumbu (Bope 67'), Moke (Meschak 46'), Maghoma, Mbemba, Bakambu, Assombalonga (M'Poku 91').

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.