Pirates, Chiefs in season curtain raiser

Pirates, Chiefs in season curtain raiser
George Maluleka and Willard Katsande of Kaizer Chiefs reacts to Bernard Morrison of Orlando Pirates during 2017 Carling Black Label Champion Cup match between Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates at FNB Stadium, Johannesburg South Africa on 29 July 2017 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Jul 25, 2019. 13:00

The 2019/20 season curtain raiser in South African football sees Orlando Pirates and Kaizer Chiefs meet in the Carling Black Label Cup. The match is set for the FNB Stadium on Saturday 27 July, kick-off at 15:00 CAT.

The high-profile friendly returns to the calendar after being absent in 2018, and sees Chiefs looking to complete a hat-trick of victories following their triumphs in 2016 and 2017. They currently trail Pirates 4-3 in terms of overall CBLC wins.

The Amakhosi endured another trophy-less season in 2018/19 and will be desperate to begin the new campaign with some silverware – albeit in a non-competitive match. The pressure will be on coach Ernst Middendorp, who has overseen preparations for the new season and signed several new players, including Lazarous Kambole, James Kotei, Samir Nurkovic and Kearyn Baccus.

Pirates themselves have not won a major competition since the 2014 Nedbank Cup, but the progress they made under coach Milutin Sredojevic last season (they finished runners-up to Mamelodi Sundowns and took the title fight to the last day of the league campaign) suggests silverware may soon be on its way.

The Buccaneers have also been very busy in the transfer market, with their most notable additions being the likes of Tshegofatso Mabasa, Siphesihle Ndlovu, Fortune Makaringe and Frank Mhango.

As ever, the starting XIs for both teams were selected by supporters via a voting system, while two fans have the chance to be ‘Champion Coaches’ and sit on their respective team’s bench. Supporters have also voted on ‘Game Changer’ rules which has further strengthened their influence on the match.

Starting XIs

Kaizer Chiefs

Bruce Bvuma, Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Daniel Cardoso, Mulomowandau Mathoho, Lorenzo Gordinho, George Maluleka, Siphelele Ntshangase, Dumisani Zuma, Khama Billiat, Bernard Parker, Lazarous Kambole

Orlando Pirates

Wayne Sandilands, Mthokozisi Dube, Happy Jele, Justice Chabalala, Innocent Maela, Thembinkosi Lorch, Vincent Pule, Ben Motshwari, Luvuyo Memela, Augustine Mulenga, Justin Shonga.

Past CBLC results

2011 – Orlando Pirates 0-0 Kaizer Chiefs – Pirates won 4-3 on penalties

2012 – Orlando Pirates 1-1 Kaizer Chiefs – Pirates won 5-4 on penalties

2013 – Kaizer Chiefs 1-0 Orlando Pirates

2014 – Orlando Pirates 0-0 Kaizer Chiefs – Pirates won 6-5 on penalties

2015 – Orlando Pirates 1-1 Kaizer Chiefs – Pirates won 4-3 on penalties

2016 – Kaizer Chiefs 2-0 Orlando Pirates

2017 – Kaizer Chiefs 1-0 Orlando Pirates

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.