Namibia leaves out European based players for WCQ

Namibia leaves out European based players for WCQ
Chris Katjiukua of Namibia evades tackle from Percy Tau of South Africa during the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Finals football match between South Africa and Namibia at the Al Salam Stadium, Cairo, Egypt on 28 June 2019 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday Aug 27, 2019. 14:00

Namibia have named a preliminary squad of 36 players for next week’s World Cup clash against Eritrea but will not be taking their two European-based players to the game.

Both Ryan Nyambe and Manfred Starke are to be allowed to stay at their clubs in order to try and win a regular first team place.

Nyambe, who played at the Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt in June, is at Blackburn Rovers in England’s Championship and Starke recently signed for Kaiserslautern in Germany from Carl Zeiss Jena.

Caretaker coach Bobby Samaria has dropped six players from the squad that competed in Egypt, including captain Ronald Ketjirere and former first choice goalkeeper Max Mbaeva, from Lamontville Golden Arrows in South Africa’s top flight.

Chris Katjiukua from Black Leopards in South Africa has been recalled after missing out on Egypt, as is former Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Virgil Vries, currently without a club.

Samaria will cut 13 players before the squad departs on Sunday to Asmara, where they play on Wednesday, September 4.

The return match is on September 10 at the Sam Nujoma Stadium in Windhoek.


Goalkeepers: Loydt Kazapua (Maccabi FC), Ratanda Mbazuvara (African Stars), Kamaijanda Ndisiro (Black Africa), Calvin Spiegel (Okahandja United), Charles Uirab (UNAM), Virgil Vries (unattached)

Defenders: Denzil Haoseb (unattached), Larry Horaeb (Tura Magic), Ivan Kamberipa (African Stars), Chris Katjiukua (Black Leopards, South Africa), Teberius Lombard (Zanaco, Zambia), Emilio Martin, Vitapi Ngaruka (both Black Africa), Aprocious Petrus (Eleven Arrows)

Midfielders: Obrey Amseb (African Stars), Gregory Aukumeb (Blue Waters), Dynamo Fredericks, Immanuel Heita (both Black Africa), Deon Hotto (Bidvest Wits, South Africa), Absalom Iimbondi (Tigers FC), Gustav Isaak (African Stars), Joslyn Kamatuka (Cape Umoya United, South Africa), Marcel Papama (African Stars), Llewelyn Stanley (Tigers FC), Willy Stephanus, Petrus Shitembi (both Lusaka Dynamos)

Strikers: Isaskar Gurirab (Life Fighters), Elmo Kambindu (Mighty Gunners), Mapenzi Muwanei (Tigers FC), McCartney Naweseb (Black Africa), Panduleni Nekundi (unattached), Wendell Rudath (Black Africa), Peter Shalulile (Highlands Park), Benson Shilongo (Ismaili, Egypt), Hendrik Somaeb (unattached), Junias Theophilus (Tura Magic).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.