Rwanda names their WCQ squad against Seychelles

Rwanda names their WCQ squad against Seychelles
Jacques Tuyisenge of Rwanda

by Staff Reporter

Tuesday Aug 27, 2019. 16:00

Rwanda are taking no chances despite being 59 places above the Seychelles in the FIFA rankings and have called up 10 foreign-based players in a 25-man squad for next week’s 2022 World Cup qualifiers.

Bangladesh based defender Emery Bayiasenge has won a recall after a two year absence from the national team, as has striker Patrick Sibomana, now in Tanzania but previously playing in Belarus.

Midfielder Haruna Niyonzima is also back after returning to the Rwanda league.

“It was the right time for him to come back in the squad. He didn’t get a call up previously because he asked us not to consider him and that he be given time to sort out his issues in Tanzania with his former club back then,” explained coach Vincent Mashami.

“This is a good opportunity for us to work hard and get this team winning again as all Rwandans expect. Even if we have not managed to get a friendly match to prepare for the Seychelles game, we are going to use the preparation period well to get at the expected level as much as we can,” he added.

“I believe in this squad a lot, I know the results have not come our way in the previous campaigns, but I am very impressed by the performances we put in the last Africa Cup of Nations qualifying campaign.

“We only need to work on our finishing because in many matches, we didn’t capitalise on our chances as much we desired. We also need to raise our level of concentration in matches so as to avoid conceding a lot as most of goals we conceded were due to lapses in concentration,’

The Amavubi Stars will face the Seychelles in the first leg on September 5 before hosting the return on September 10 in Kigali


Goalkeepers: Yves Kimenyi (Rayon Sports), Eric Ndayishimiye (AS Kigali), Omar Rwabugiri (APR FC)

Defenders: Emery Bayisenge (Saif SC, Bangladesh) Omborenga Fitina, Emmanuel Imanishimwe (both APR FC), Eric Iradukunda (Rayon Sports), Thierry Manzi (APR FC), Salomon Nirisarike (Tubize, Belgium), Eric Rutanga (Rayon Sports), Abdul Rwatubyaye (Colorado Rapids, USA)

Midfielders: Djihad Bizimana (Waasland Beveren, Belgium), Andrew Butera (APR FC), Jean Claude Iranzi (Rayon Sports), Kevin Muhire (Misr El Makasa, Egypt), Yannick Mukunzi (Sandvikens IF, Sweden), Haruna Niyonzima (AS Kigali), Olivier Niyonzima (APR FC),

Forwards: Muhadjiri Hakizimana (Emirates Club, United Arab Emirates), Meddie Kagere (Simba, Tanzania), Djabel Manishimwe (APR FC), Justin Mico (Police FC), Patrick Sibomana (Young Africans, Tanzania), Ernest Sugira (APR FC), Jacques Tuyisenge (Petro Atletico, Angola).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.