Key players dropped as new broom sweeps through Zimbabwe squad

Key players dropped as new broom sweeps through Zimbabwe squad
Knowledge Musona

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Aug 29, 2019. 17:00

The new broom that is being swept through the Zimbabwe national team squad has claimed some notable scalps as coach Joey Antipas named his first squad for the 2022 World Cup qualifier against Somalia next week.

Antipas has reportedly been instructed not to select certain players who were seen as leading the embarrassing public mutiny at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, where players at one stage threatened to not fulfil their fixtures over unpaid monies owing.

These include the three skippers at the finals, Knowledge Musona, Ovidy Karuru and Danny Phiri, and goalkeepers George Chigova and Edmore Sibanda.

In fact, almost half the squad in Egypt has not been called for the Somalia fixtures, where Zimbabwe are expected to win, but also face elimination from the World Cup at the first hurdle.

Knox Mutizwa, Ronald Pfumbidzai, Talent Chawapiwa and Jimmy Dzingai are others who have not been selected.

Antipas admitted he had hoped to include Reiss Nelson (Arsenal), Brendan Galloway (Luton Town), Kundai Benyu (Helsingborgs) and McCauley Bonne (Charlton Athletic), but their paperwork to represent the Warriors is not completed.

“It is a balanced squad with a lot of youthful players which I believe need to be given a chance with the national team,’’ said Antipas.

“We want to have a broad selection of players and this is their chance to prove they deserve to be in the team.

“There are some players I would have wanted to see in the team, but unfortunately, we failed to include them because their papers are yet to be regularised.

“Players like Kundai, Reiss, Brendan and McCauley, we really wanted them to be part of the squad, but unfortunately we couldn’t.”

Zimbabwe squad:

Goalkeepers: Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka), Talbert Shumba (Chapungu)

Defenders: Teenage Hadebe (Yeni Malatyaspor), Macclive Phiri (Highlanders), Peter Muduwa (Highlanders), Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids AFC), Divine Lunga (Lamontville Golden Arrows)

Midfielders: Marshall Munetsi (Stade de Reims), Thabani Kamusoko (Zesco United), Kudakwashe Mahachi (SuperSport United), Tichaona Chipunza (Chicken Inn), Phenias Bamusi (Caps United), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs)

Strikers: Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre AC), Clive Augusto (Maritzburg United), Terrence Dzvukamanja (Bidvest Wits), Admiral Muskwe (Leicester City), Evans Rusike (SuperSport United)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.