Musona back in Zimbabwe mix for Afcon qualifiers

Musona back in Zimbabwe mix for Afcon qualifiers
Knowledge Musona of Zimbabwe

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Oct 23, 2019. 13:00

Zimbabwe coach Joey Antipas has named a 32-man provisional squad for the Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers next month, with a notable return for striker Knowledge Musona after reports he had been banned from the side.

The Warriors host Botswana on November 15 and then travel to Zambia four days later as they seek a third successive Nations Cup qualification.

Musona was accused of leading a player revolt at the last finals in Egypt and not selected for the World Cup qualifier against South Sudan, along with the likes of Danny Phiri, Talent Chawapihwa, George Chigova and Edmore Sibanda.

Belgium-based Musona is the only one of the group to earn a recall for the Afcon qualifiers.

Antipas has also handed first call-ups to English-based teenage defenders Tivonge Rushesha (Swansea City) and Jordan Zemura (Bournemouth).

There are just five home-based players in the squad, with Hamburg midfielder Jonah Fabisch, the son of late coach Reinhard, also getting the nod.

Zimbabwe provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka FC, South Africa), Martin Mapisa (Velez CF, Spain), Simbarashe Chinani (Dynamos)

Defenders: Douglas Nyaupembe (Stockport County, England), Ian Nekati (ZPC Kariba), Tivonge Rushesha (Swansea City, England), Cliff Moyo (Kidderminister Harriers, England), Divine Lunga (Lamontville Golden Arrows, South Africa), Adam Chicksen (Bolton Wanderers, England), Jordan Zemura (Bournemouth, England), Ronald Pfumbidzai (Bloemfontein Celtic, South Africa), Teenage Hadebe (Yeni Malatyaspor, Turkey), Alec Mudimu (CEFN Druids, Wales), Partson Jaure (Manica Diamonds), Kelvin Moyo (Chippa United, South Africa)

Midfielders: Marshall Munetsi (Stade de Reims, France), Thabani Kamusoko (Zesco United, Zambia), Butholezwe Ncube (AmaZulu, South Africa), Marvelous Nakamba (Aston Villa, England), Ovidy Karuru (AmaZulu, South Africa), Kudakwashe Mahachi (SuperSport United, South Africa), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Phenias Bamusi (Caps), Jonah Fabisch (Hamburger SV, Germany)

Strikers: Admiral Muskwe (Leicester City, England), Terrence Dzvukamanja (Bidvest Wits, South Africa), Prince Dube (Highlanders), Knowledge Musona (RSC Anderlecht), Tinotenda Kadewere (Le Havre AC, France), Knox Mutizwa (Lamontville Golden Arrows, South Africa), Macauley Bonne (Charlton Athletic, England), Evans Rusike (SuperSport United, South Africa)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.