Rohr recalls Musa for Afcon qualifiers

Rohr recalls Musa for Afcon qualifiers
Ahmed Musa of Nigeria

by Staff Reporter

Thursday Oct 31, 2019. 11:00

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has made a number of changes to his squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers against Benin and Lesotho next month, including the return from injury of regular skipper Ahmed Musa.

Musa missed the 1-1 draw with Brazil in Singapore, but the Al Nassr forward is now ready to return.

There is also a recall for Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, who Rohr had publicly blamed for the side’s Africa Cup of Nations semi-final defeat to Algeria, but has rewarded for some good form in the South African Premier Soccer League.

Midfielder Mikel Agu, who has not played since the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, is also brought back into the fold having had a good start to the season with his Portuguese side Vitoria Guimaraes.

The Super Eagles open their qualifying campaign against Benin in Uyo on November 14 and then travel to Lesotho three days later.

Nigeria squad:

Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland FC), Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany)

Defenders: Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain), Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey), Chidozie Awaziem (CD Leganes, Spain), William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy), Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy), Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany), Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England), Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow, Russia)

Midfielders: Alexander Iwobi (Everton FC, England), Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland), Ramon Azeez (Granada FC, Spain)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr, Saudi Arabia), Victor Osimhen (Lille OSC, France), Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain), Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium), Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge, Belgium), Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France),

Standby: Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England), Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Prague, Czech Republic), Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City, England)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.