Full list of CAF award winners

Full list of CAF award winners
Riyad Mahrez of Algeria celebrates goal during the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Finals Semifinal football match between Algeria and Nigeria at the Cairo International Stadium, Cairo, Egypt on 14 July 2019 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Jan 08, 2020. 11:00

Sadio Mane, Achraf Hakimi and Riyad Mahrez were among the big winners at the 2019 CAF Awards ceremony hosted in Egypt on Tuesday.

Mane beat Liverpool teammate Mohamed Salah and Manchester City’s Riyad Mahrez to the top award, but the Algerian didn’t end the night empty handed with his goal against Nigeria voted as the Goal of the Year.

Furthermore, Asisat Oshoala was named Africa’s best women’s footballer for a fourth time while Desiree Ellis walked away with the African Women’s Coach of the Year accolade.

Full list of ward winners:

African Player of the Year

Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

African Interclubs Player of the Year

Youcef Belaïli (Algeria & Esperance / Ahli Jeddah)

African Youth Player of the Year

Achraf Hakimi (Morocco & Borussia Dortmund)

African Men’s Coach of the Year

Djamel Belmadi (Algeria)

African Men’s National Team of the Year


African Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Barcelona)

African Women’s Coach of the Year

Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

African Women’s National Team of the Year


Best FA Award


Goal of the Year

Riyad Mahrez (vs Nigeria at AFCON 2019)

African Club President of the Year award

Moise Katumbi (TP Mazembe)

Special Award

Kodjovi Obilale

Africa Best XI: Andre Onana, Achraf Hakimi, Kalidou Koulibaly, Joel Matip, Serge Aurier, Riyad Mahrez, Idrissa Gana Gueye, Hakim Ziyech, Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment