SuperSport, Sundowns set for Tshwane derby

SuperSport, Sundowns set for Tshwane derby
Onismor Bhasera of Supersport tackles Thapelo Morena of Sundowns during the Absa Premiership 2019/20 football match between Mamelodi Sundowns and SuperSport United at Lucas Moripe Stadium, Pretoria on 03 August 2019 ©Gavin Barker/BackpagePix

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Jan 18, 2020. 17:00

Tshwane derby rivals SuperSport United and Mamelodi Sundowns will meet for an eagerly-anticipated Absa Premiership clash at Lucas Moripe Stadium on Sunday 19 January 2020, kick-off at 15h30.

SuperSport claimed a second win from their last three league matches when they defeated AmaZulu 2-0 away on January 12, courtesy of goals from Evans Rusike and Bradley Grobler. Matsatsantsa have taken 17 points from nine home matches this season.

Sundowns suffered just a third defeat this league season when they went down 1-0 away to Orlando Pirates on January 15, a massive blow to their hopes of defending the Premiership title. The Brazilians have claimed 12 points from eight away matches in the 2019/20 campaign.

In head-to-head terms, United and Sundowns have clashed in 57 league matches since 1990. The Brazilians have dominated the rivalry, claiming 30 wins compared to 15 for Matsatsantsa, while 12 games have been drawn. The team in blue have managed just five wins from 28 home matches in the rivalry, suffering 17 defeats in the process.

When the teams met earlier this season, at Lucas Moripe Stadium in August 2019, Sundowns claimed a 2-0 home win thanks to goals from Sibusiso Vilakazi and Themba Zwane. It was a first home victory in this rivalry since 2016, and only a third in the last nine league meetings of the teams.

SuperSport’s line-up from their 2-0 win over AmaZulu on January 12: Williams, Bhasera, Daniels, Fleurs, Kekana, Mahachi, Furman, Mokoena (Mbule 90’+3), Gabuza (Ditlhokwe 85′), Grobler, Rusike (Lungu 72′).

Sundowns’ line-up from their 1-0 loss to Pirates on January 15: Onyango, Ngcongca, Madisha, Lebusa, Langerman, Morena, Kekana, Jali (Mabunda 46’), Mkhulise (Mahlambi 66’), Vilakazi (Maboe 77’), Sirino.

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment