Ayew brothers headline Akonnor's 1st Ghana squad

Ayew brothers headline Akonnor's 1st Ghana squad
Jordan Ayew and Andre Ayew of Ghana

by Staff Reporter

Wednesday Mar 04, 2020. 09:00

New Ghana coach Charles Akonnor has named a 23-man provisional squad for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying games with Sudan.

The Black Stars are set to face the Falcons of Jediane twice in successive games – first at Cape Coast on March 27 and in Omdurman three days after – with the look to build on our unblemished record in Group C of the qualifying.

Akonnor, who replaced Kwesi Appiah as Ghana coach two months ago, spoke to the Ghana Football Association (GFA) website.

“I can assure that we will be an offensive-oriented team – a team that would like to pass the ball quick, move into attack and also be able to create chances,” Akonnor said.

“I want players who are disciplined and [adhere] strictly to our tactical play.”

There are first-time call-ups for winger Tariq Fosu from Brentford FC and Hapoel Ra’anana of Israel striker Eugene Ansah.

Joining them are the home-based quartet of Richard Attah (Hearts of Oak), Kwadwo Amoako (AshantiGold), Habib Mohammed (Asante Kotoko) and Yahaya Mohammed (Aduana Stars).

Red Star Belgrade striker Richmond Boakye Yiadom is back in after missing previous squads.

Skipper Andre Ayew leads a group of 16 other players to have maintained their spots from our opening qualifying wins over South Africa and São Tomé and Príncipe.

The squad:


Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Razak Abalora, (Azam FC, Tanzania) Richard Atta (Hearts of Oak)


Kwadwo Amoako (AshantiGold), Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Gideon Mensah (Zulte Waregem, Belgium)


Nicholas Opoku (Amiens, France), Joseph Aidoo (Celta Vigo, Spain), Kassim Nuhu (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Habib Mohammed (Asante Kotoko)


Mubarak Wakaso (Jiangsu Suning, China), Alfred Duncan (Fiorentina, Italy), Iddrisu Baba (RCD Mallorca, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Mohammed Kudus (FC Nordsjaelland, Denmark)


Christopher Antwi-Adjei (Paderborn, Germany), Tariqe Fosu (Brentford FC, England), Samuel Owusu (Al Fayha FC, Saudi Arabia), Andre Ayew (Swansea City, England)


Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Richmond Boakye Yiadom (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), Eugene Ansah (Hapoel Ra’anana, Israel), Yahaya Mohammed (Aduana Stars)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.