Ntseki names 25-man squad for São Tomé test

Ntseki names 25-man squad for São Tomé test
Mohamed Mahamoud of Sudan challenged by Lebogang Phiri of South Africa during the 2021 Afcon Qualifiers match between South Africa and Sudan at the Orlando Stadium, Soweto on the 17 November 2019 ©Muzi Ntombela/BackpagePix

by Bertin Basson

Thursday Mar 12, 2020. 11:36

Bafana Bafana head coach Molefti Ntseki has named a 25-man squad for back-to-back Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers against São Tomé and Principe this month.

South Africa will host the first match between the two nations at FNB Stadium in Soweto on Friday 27 March before the reverse fixture at Estádio Nacional 12 de Julho in São Tomé four days later.

Veteran Absa Premiership stars Itumeleng Khune, Thabo Matlaba, George Maluleka and Andile Jali have all made a return to the national fold, while there were also call-ups for Brandon Petersen of Bidvest Wits, Gladwin Shitolo of Golden Arrows and Maritzburg United forward Thabiso Kutumela.

Full squad:


Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Brandon Peterson (Bidvest Wits)


Erick Mathoho, Reeve Frosler (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo, S’fiso Hlanti (Bidvest Wits), Gladwin Shitolo (Golden Arrows), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thabo Matlaba (Black Leopards).


Andile Jali, Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), George Maluleka, Lebogang Manyama (Kaizer Chiefs), Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United), Lebogang Phiri (Guingamp), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Percy Tau (Club Brugge), Thulani Serero (Al Jazira).


Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Thabiso Kutumela (Maritzburg United).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.