NFF adopts PPG, new season to start in September

NFF adopts PPG, new season to start in September

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Jul 11, 2020. 13:00

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has adopted a points-per-game (PPG) method to end the 2019-20 season and has stated that the new season will begin in September/October.

The decisions were taken following resolutions passed at an online meeting of the NFF Football Committee, which was formed to decide the outcome of the campaign which has been suspended since March due to coronavirus pandemic.

The leagues listed to begin again in a couple of months are the Nigeria Professional Football League, Nigeria Women Football League, Nigeria National League, National League One and the Aiteo Cup.

According to a statement from the NFF, the leagues’ resumption “is subject to the full reopening of the country and the approval of the health authorities.”

The statement added, “All dates for the 2020/2021 season to start are subject to the directives of the Federal Government in line with Covid-19 protocols.

“In addition, the full enforcement of licensing regulations and financial controls for the NPFL will commence from the 2020/2021 season. All clubs are required to comply, failing which they will be barred from participating.

“The Nigeria Football Federation will formally take the resolutions to the next General Meeting of its Congress for ratification. In the meantime, these resolutions have been formally communicated to the Federal Ministry of Youth and Social Development.”

It added that the NPFL ends at current Matchday 25 and the points-per-game method will be used to finalise the log, adding that “there will be no promotion to, or relegation from, NPFL for the 2019/2020 season”.

This sees Plateau United named winners of the league for 2019-20, and they will be joined by second-placed Rivers United in representing the country in next season’s CAF Champions League.

Third-placed Lobi Stars will play in the 2020-21 CAF Confederation Cup, as will Niger Tornadoes, as the latest champions of the AITEO Cup (the 2019-20 edition of the Cup has been cancelled after only completing state-level matches before the onset of the pandemic).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment