C.K. Akonnor names 23-man squad for Mali clash

C.K. Akonnor names 23-man squad for Mali clash
Ghana coach Charles Akonnor

by Graeme Jackson

Saturday Sep 26, 2020. 12:00

Ghana national team manager C.K Akonnor has announced a 23-man squad for next month’s friendly game against Mali.

The match will be held in Antalya, Turkey on Friday 9 October and serve as part of the Black Stars’ preparations for the resumption of Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers the following month.

The fixture against the Eagles will also be the first in charge for Akonnor, seeing as Ghana have been inactive since their back-to-back wins over South Africa and Sao Tome and Principe in AFCON qualifiers in November 2019.

Ghana were also scheduled to play Equatorial Guinea in the upcoming international window, but the Central African Country have since pulled out of the clash due to new travel restrictions.

According to the Ghana Football Association’s website [https://www.ghanafa.org/c-k-akonnor-names-squad-for-mali-friendly], “Akonnor has handed debut call ups to France based Alexander Djiku who plays for Strasbourg, Yakubu Mohammed of Azam FC in Tanzania, Benson Anang of MSK Zilina in Slovakia, Emmanuel Lomotey of Amiens in France and youngster Kamal Deen who plays for Danish side Nordsjaelland.”

In addition, “Pyramid FC’s John Antwi has also been handed a call up by the Ghana coach. Turkey based Bernard Mensah makes a return to the team for the first time in five years.”

Ghana’s 23-man squad:

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg), Richard Ati Zigi (St. Gallen), Razak Abalora (Unattached)

Full Backs: Benson Anang (Zilina FC), Lumor Agbenyenu (Sporting Club), Yakubu Mohammed (Azam FC), Gideon Mensah (Vitoria de Guimaraes)

Centre Backs: Alexander Djiku (Strasbourg), Joseph Aidoo (Celta de Vigo), Nicholas Opoku (Amiens), Kassim Nuhu (Hoffenheim)

Midfielders: Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid), Emmanuel Lomotey (Amiens), Bernard Mensah (Besiktas), Baba Iddrisu (RCD Mallorca)

Attackers/Wingers: Andre Ayew (Swansea), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace), John Antwi (Pyramids FC), Eugene Ansah (Hapoel Shmona), Jefferey Schlupp (Crystal Palace), Samuel Owusu (Al Fayha FC), Kamal Deen (Nordsjaelland SC), Mohammed Kudus (Ajax SC)

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.