New Kenya coach ‘Ghost’ names his first squad

New Kenya coach ‘Ghost’ names his first squad
Michael Olunga of Kenya

by Helder Ribiero

Monday Oct 26, 2020. 11:00

New Kenya national team coach Jacob ‘Ghost’ Mulee has named a provisional squad of 40 players (plus a reserve list) for their upcoming Africa Cup of Nations qualifying double-header against Comoros.

Mulee, who took the reins earlier this month for a fifth time in charge of the Harambee Stars, has given opportunities to the likes of goalkeepers Brian Bwire of Kariobangi Sharks and Tusker’s Robert Mboya, while defender David Owino of Zesco United has been given a lifeline in his international career.

In midfield, Ismael Gonzalez and Boniface Muchiri return to the Kenyan set up, while the forward selection is headlined by key man Michael Olunga of Kashiwa Reysol in Japan.

The locally-based players in the squad will begin assembling on October 28, while the foreign-based legion are expected to arrive on November 2. The 40-man selection will be trimmed to 20 for the games against Comoros.

The first match will be played at Kasarani on November 11 with the return clash scheduled for November 15.

Kenya preliminary squad

Goalkeepers: Arnold Origi (HIFK, Finland), Robert Mboya (Tusker, Kenya), Brian Bwire (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Ian Otieno (Zesco United, Zambia), Timothy Odhiambo (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya).

Defenders: Johnstone Omurwa (Wazito, Kenya), Brian Mandela (Unattached), Joash Onyango (Simba, Tanzania), Daniel Sakari (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya) Andrew Juma (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Mike Kibwage (Sofapaka, Kenya), Joseph Okumu (Elfsborg, Sweden), Samuel Olwande (Kariobangi Sharks, Kenya), Baraka Badi (KCB, Kenya), David Owino (Zesco United, Zambia), Hillary Wandera (Tusker, Kenya), Eric Ouma (AIK, Sweden), David Owino (Mathare United, Kenya).

Midfielders: Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Victor Wanyama (Impact Montreal, Canada), Ismael Gonzalez (UD Las Palmas, Spain), Eric Johanna Omondi (Jonkoping’s Sodra, Sweden), Cliff Nyakeya (Masr FC, Egypt), Antony Akumu (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Musa Masika (Wazito, Kenya), Bonface Muchiri (Tusker, Kenya) Lawrence Juma (Sofapaka, Kenya), Johanna Omolo (Cercle Brugge, Belgium), Ayub Timbe (Unattached), Peter Thion’go (AFC Leopards, Kenya), Hassan Abdallah (Bandari, Kenya), Elli Asieche (Sofapaka, Kenya), Mathew Olake (Unattached), Moses Mudavadi (Kakamega Homeboyz, Kenya), Austin Odhiambo (AFC Leopards, Kenya).

Forwards: Michael Olunga (Kashiwa Reysol, Japan), Benson Omala (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Masud Juma (JS Kabylie, Algeria), John Avire (Tanta FC, Egypt), Oscar Wamalwa (Ulinzi Stars, Kenya)

Reserves: Dennis Sikhayi (Wazito, Kenya), James Kinyanjui (Mathare United, Kenya).

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.