Pirates take aim at Chiefs in MTN8 clash

Pirates take aim at Chiefs in MTN8 clash
Paseka Mako of Orlando Pirates challenged by Khama Billiat of Kaizer Chiefs

by Staff Reporter

Friday Oct 30, 2020. 14:00

Orlando Pirates will face their Soweto rivals Kaizer Chiefs in the 2020 MTN8 semi-final first-leg encounter on Saturday.

Kick-off is at 3:00 pm CAT.

The match is set to be played at the Mecca of South African football, Orlando Stadium in Soweto, Johannesburg.

Pirates reached this stage after defeating Cape Town City 1-0 at home in the quarter-final encounter earlier this month.

The Bucaneers are hoping to reach the MTN8 final for the first time since 2014 when they were defeated by Chiefs in an enthralling final

Coach Josef Zinnbauer will look to Thulani Hlatshwayo and Terrence Dzvukamanja when they take on their Soweto rivals.

South frica captain Hlatshwayo is an inspiration leader in the Pirates defence, while Zimbabwean striker Dzvukamanja has a habit of scoring key goals.

Meanwhile, Chiefs secured their place in the last four after defeating Maritzburg United 2-1 in the quarter-final match earlier this month.

Amakhosi are keen to reach the MTN8 final for the first time since 2015 when they succumbed to a surprise defeat to Ajax Cape Town.

Coach Gavin Hunt will pin the team’s hopes of defeating Pirates on Lebogang Manyama and Khama Billiat.

South Africa international Manyama is one of the most creative players in the country, while Zimbabwean attacker Billiat has the ability to inspire his side to a win in the Soweto Derby.

Pirates v Chiefs – Head-to-Head (since 1985)


Season Cup – Result – Scorers

1987 Mainstay sfinal Chiefs 1-1 Pirates Madida; Moloi

1987 Mainstay sfinal rpay Pirates 0-1 Chiefs Thindwa

1988 Bob Save final Chiefs 0-0 Pirates

1988 Bob Save final rpay Pirates 2-1 Chiefs Steenkamp, Maake; Mangena

1991 BP Top 8 quarterfinal Chiefs 2-1 Pirates Khumalo, MacGregor; Maake

1991 Castle Challenge final Chiefs 2-1 Pirates Khuse, Madida; Steenkamp

1992 Coca-Cola 1st round Chiefs 3-2 Pirates Madida 2 (1 pen), Bwalya; Tsoane, Nyathi

1993 Bob Save semifinal Chiefs 1-0 Pirates Khumalo

1996 Bob Save semifinal Chiefs 1-4 Pirates Modise; Sikhosana 3, Mkhalele

1997/98 Bob Save 2nd round Chiefs 0-1 Pirates Pam

1998/99 Rothmans sf, 1st leg Chiefs 3-1 Pirates Ndlanya 2, Batchelor; Ngake

1998/99 Rothmans sf, 2nd leg Pirates 1-0 Chiefs Zuma

2001/02 BP Top 8 semifinal Chiefs 1-0 Pirates Niemach

2005/06 Absa Cup final Chiefs 0-0* Pirates

2009/10 Telkom semifinal Pirates 0-0* Chiefs

2010/11 MTN8 sfinal, 1st leg Pirates 1-1 Chiefs Chansa; Musona

2010/11 MTN8 sfinal, 2nd leg Chiefs 0-1 Pirates Mashego

2010/11 Telkom final Pirates 0-3 Chiefs Ngcobo 2, Tshabalala

2011/12 MTN8 final Pirates 1-0 Chiefs Manyisa

2013/14 MTN8 sfinal, 1st leg Chiefs 0-1 Pirates Klate

2013/14 MTN8 sfinal, 2nd leg Pirates 1-1 Chiefs Bacela (pen); Parker

2014/15 MTN8 final Chiefs 1-0 Pirates Mashamaite

2015/16 Telkom semifinal Chiefs 0-0* Pirates

2015/16 Nedbank, last 32 Pirates 2-0 Chiefs Ndoro 2

2018/19 Telkom semifinal Chiefs 1-2 Pirates Castro; Lorch, Shonga

2019/20 Telkom quarterfinal Chiefs 2-2* Pirates Castro, Cardoso (pen); Makaringe, Mhango

(*Chiefs won on penalties)


Season – Result – Scorers

2015/16 Chiefs 1-3 Pirates Mathoho; Sarr, Gcaba, Gabuza

2015/16 Pirates 1-1 Chiefs Gabuza; Katsande

2016/17 Pirates 0-0 Chiefs

2016/17 Chiefs 1-1 Pirates Molangoane; Masilela (og)

2017/18 Chiefs 0-0 Pirates

2017/18 Pirates 3-1 Chiefs Lorch, Memela 2; Castro

2018/19 Pirates 2-1 Chiefs Maela, Pule; Billiat

2018/19 Chiefs 1-1 Pirates Cardoso (pen); Lorch

2019/20 Chiefs 3-2 Pirates Nyauza (og), Castro, Cardoso (pen); Pule, Mhango

2019/20 Pirates 0-1 Chiefs Manyama



Pirates 26 9 8 9 25 25

Chiefs 26 9 8 9 25 25

OVERALL RECORD (all competitions)


Pirates 95 24 36 35 89 103

Chiefs 95 35 36 24 103 89

Sign in with:  
Sign in to comment
Important information regarding cookies
By using this website, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Policy.